Connect with us

For this month




Like “multiple intelligence” that is manifested through different strengths, there are a million and one ways to express that affection and devotion towards someone. On this love season, let’ take a closer look at these love languages and understand better how people show and receive them regardless of race and situations. In his book “The 5 Love Languages,” Dr. Gary Chapman categorized love languages into the following:

1. Words of Affirmation For a person with this love language, words mean a lot. Words can either make or break them. Sincere verbal compliments followed by an “I love you” is the simplest yet most effective way of expressing love.

2. Acts of Service Doing things for a loved one is the ultimate expression for someone with this language. Volunteering to do the dishes equates to an “I love you.” To simplify, people with this love language believe that actions speak louder than words.

3. Receiving Gifts For someone with this love language, a simple but well thought out gift is a winning move. It’s not being materialistic but it values little meaningful presents that make a person with this love language feel that he/she is appreciated. Even a keychain, if given with utmost sincerity, can be translated to an “I love you.”

4. Quality Time From the phrase itself, QT is the most important expression for someone with this love language. Undivided attention is equivalent to an “I love you.” Spending quality time together, probably even over a simple coffee date, or a movie time at home is effortlessly effective.

5. Physical Touch It doesnt have to be on the PDA level – holding of hands is more than enough expression for someone with this love language. Any form of physical touch means “I love you” because connection between two people is more evident and (physical) presence matters! These five love languages are important in satisfying the needs of a loved one. And understanding these 5 is key to a stronger bond between people in any form of relationship.

Reference: The 5 Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *